What’s The Point?

Anytime God comes into your life and extends the courtesy of a new season or unveils a new gift, it’s because there’s something in your future that’s much brighter than the days of your past.

After the passing of my mother, I couldn’t help but wonder: “What’s the point?” No matter what anyone said to me, I couldn’t see life beyond where I was at that moment. How could I move forward without the person I thought I was responsible for? Why did God promise me all of these things if my mother wasn’t going to be around to see it? What was the point? One morning, God said to me: “You have wasted as much time as you are ever going to waste. You no longer need to waste time worrying about stuff that you don’t have the power to change. You will no longer waste time trying to explain to people what I am doing in your life. You will no longer waste time trying to resolve conflicts with people who aren’t interested in them being resolved. You must preserve your strength and time. It’s time for you to go after things that really matter in life.” During my most intimate moments with God, He spoke to me and pushed me beyond the limitations I put on myself. One of the most traumatic experiences I had ever encountered gave me a new perspective on life, love and relationships. I couldn’t believe in all of my sadness and confusion, God was using my life as an example of His infinite grace and mercy. He was going to get me through the storm, and by my strength, He would save people in the process. For months, I wrote until I finished my book, Rubies. I also wrote blog posts. This blog helped me connect with others who were hurting like me in their relationships. You all allowed me to be transparent, but more importantly, honest with myself. It was during this healing process that I realized, my old mentality wouldn’t be able to hold my new blessing.

Whenever you are ready for something new, be careful not to attach something that is old with that something which is new. Part of me still wanted to cut some pieces from my past and patch them into my future. But, at some point in your life, you have to stretch everything about you. You have to stretch your mind, heart, and desires. I stretched my mind to the point that I believed God could do ANYTHING! I stretched my heart to the point that I believed God could repair and heal anyone. And in stretching my desires, I realized that even though I’m not deserving, God still gives me His best. When you begin to understand the preciousness of time, it makes you extremely careful of how you spend yours. It also makes you extremely careful on WHO you spend your time. When you really begin to understand the preciousness of time, you don’t give it up so easily, and you certainly don’t waste it on people who are full of foolishness.

For years, I was wasting my purpose and my passion. But, there is something that happens in the heart of a person that realizes they’ve wasted opportunities. They start realizing they’re going to redeem their time! That’s what happened to me. As I was finishing my book, I realized all the time I had wasted, and I so desperately wanted to make up for it. Whatever I needed to change, I changed it! I knew that God would not continue to waste wisdom and opportunities on people who were inflexible and unchangeable. I became stronger and wiser through my transition. I learned that death isn’t just a transition for the person’s life. It is a transition for everyone connected to that person. The special thing about being in transition, is that you need God. He puts you in situations where you can’t trust anyone but Him. God had to show me that He was still in control. Even if things didn’t happen the way I wanted them to, I still had to trust that His plans for my life were good.

God allows things to happen to us not to break or destroy us, but to strengthen us. Through my transition, broken things became blessed things because I let God do the mending. Allow God to mend whatever is broken in your life. He can change anyone and His grace is what saves us all. You can’t go into your new season with your old mind, and in order to change your mind, you’ve got to empty yourself out of limitations. Empty all of the regret. All you can do is redeem yourself by going forward! Your greatest blessings will be found in the most uncomfortable places! Opportunity has never knocked when it was convenient — it has always knocked in chaos.

In the beginning, I asked: “what was the point?” The point is, God can pull out of you things you never knew were in you. There’s treasure in you. Purpose lies in you, and it’s up to you to find your power. God uses storms to strengthen us and prepare us for a place of greater. So, the next time you ask: “what’s the point?” Be prepared for God to show you.

“Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is–his good, pleasing and perfect will.” Romans 12:2

Xoxo,

Darian

2 Comments

Leave a comment